Une archive pour: Changement climatique


Cette vidéo illustre des stratégies permettant aux exécutants et aux défenseurs des programmes de planification familiale et de santé reproductive de positionner leurs programmes pour accéder au financement de l'adaptation au changement climatique. UN soirée de surveillance virtuelle et atelier in April 2022 a présenté la vidéo et a donné l'occasion aux exécutants et aux défenseurs d'explorer comment appliquer chacune des stratégies à leur programmation avec les conseils d'experts clés.

Matériaux connexes: Note de politique

An: 2022

Source: Bureau de référence démographique

Accéder à la ressource

 

Cette vidéo, présenté par la Planetary Health Alliance en partenariat avec le World Wildlife Fund et le Harvard University Center for the Environment, souligne comment la perturbation de la nature menace la santé et le bien-être planétaires, tout en soulignant la nécessité de solutions telles qu'un accès accru à l'éducation, autonomisation des femmes, et les soins de santé reproductive pour un avenir durable.

An: 2021

Source: Alliance pour la santé planétaire

Accéder à la ressource

Les femmes sont engagées dans plus d'activités liées au changement climatique qu'on ne le reconnaît souvent. Cet article met en lumière le rôle important des femmes dans l’adaptation et la recherche de communautés plus sûres, ce qui les amène à mieux comprendre les causes et les conséquences des changements des conditions climatiques. Il est conclu que les femmes ont des connaissances et des compétences importantes pour orienter les processus d'adaptation, un produit de leurs rôles dans la société (productif, reproductif et communautaire). en outre, l'importance de l'équité entre les sexes dans ces processus est reconnue. La relation entre le changement climatique, la variabilité climatique et la réalisation des objectifs du Millénaire pour le développement sont également prises en compte.

An: 2008

Source: Progrès en géosciences

Accéder à la ressource

    Le financement climatique doit aller aux organisations de femmes, groupes liés au genre, et les organisations féministes travaillant à l'intersection de l'égalité des sexes et du changement climatique. Les efforts visant à renforcer la sensibilité au genre du financement climatique doivent inclure les groupes, les organisations, et les réseaux les mieux placés pour réaliser l'égalité des sexes sur le terrain, contribuer à des solutions et des résultats climatiques plus robustes. Ces vérités sont indéniables, mais nous savons que la pratique n'a pas encore rattrapé l'idéal. En réponse, Prospère, le Réseau international des fonds pour les femmes, et WEDO s'efforcent d'identifier les meilleures voies d'engagement pour les organisations afin de garantir que les quatre principaux fonds publics pour le climat commencent à en faire une réalité.. Ce rapport est un élément du travail en cours et du plaidoyer entrepris par de nombreux collègues et collaborateurs, transformer notre système de financement climatique en un système qui soit sensible au genre et équitable.

    An: 2019

    Source: Organisation des femmes pour l’environnement et le développement | Prospère

    Accéder à la ressource

    Ressources supplémentaires

      Weathering Change nous emmène en Éthiopie, Le Népal et le Pérou vont écouter les histoires de femmes qui luttent pour prendre soin de leur famille, tout en endurant les mauvaises récoltes et la pénurie d'eau. Le film montre comment les femmes et les familles s'adaptent déjà aux défis du changement climatique qui menacent leur santé et leurs moyens de subsistance. Le film est accompagné d'un bref guide de plaidoyer pour les téléspectateurs.

      An: 2011

      Source: PÈRE [Film | Guider]

        La recherche sur la vulnérabilité et la résilience est ancrée dans l'observation de bon sens selon laquelle des événements climatiques similaires peuvent produire des niveaux d'impact socio-économique très différents., en fonction non seulement du lieu et du moment de l'événement, mais aussi les ressources et l'agilité des sociétés qui subissent les impacts du changement climatique. Le degré d'impact dépend de la manière dont l'événement déclencheur naturel interagit avec des écosystèmes particuliers et avec les caractéristiques spécifiques de la société affectée, y compris son niveau de développement économique; les types de moyens d'existence de ses membres; niveaux d'éducation; et d'autres facteurs qui déterminent généralement à la fois la résilience de la population affectée et les ressources disponibles pour l'adaptation. Cet article aborde quatre sujets connexes: (1) variant définitions de la vulnérabilitéy et résilience (et, à dans une moindre mesure, capacité d'adaptation) und les implications de ceux-ci diffèrentences pour l'analyse sociétale, (2) approches candidates pour caractériser le r sociétalrésilience au changement climatique, (3) méthodes d'évaluation résilience, et (4) la contribution potentielle d'un richeCompréhension des affectées populations à l'étude de résilience.

        An: 2009

        Source: PÈRE | Battelle

        Accéder à la ressource

          Tout simplement, le changement climatique est causé par une production excessive de gaz à effet de serre. Comme l'a souligné le regretté professeur Tony McMichael, la cause(s) des causes »ne doit pas être négligée. Avec le changement climatique déjà proche d'un point de basculement irréversible, une action urgente est nécessaire pour réduire non seulement notre moyenne (carbone) empreintes de pas mais aussi le «nombre de pieds» - c'est-à-dire, la population croissante crée déjà de grandes empreintes ou aspire à le faire. Promotion sage et compatissante des soins contraceptifs et de l'éducation dans un contexte, un cadre culturellement approprié offre une stratégie rentable pour réduire les gaz à effet de serre. Cet article présente les preuves de la planification familiale volontaire accessible en tant que stratégie de réduction des émissions de gaz à effet de serre et d'atténuation du changement climatique..

          An: 2016

          Source: Journal médical britannique

          Accéder à la ressource

            Les effets du changement climatique frappent de manière disproportionnée les plus pauvres du monde, les communautés les plus marginalisées, en particulier ceux qui dépendent fortement de l'utilisation directe des ressources naturelles, comme les communautés de pêcheurs de subsistance. La vulnérabilité au changement climatique implique des facteurs sociaux et écologiques, et les efforts pour le réduire et renforcer la résilience à long terme doivent viser à la fois. À Madagascar, la planification nationale et internationale visant à lutter contre la vulnérabilité reste vague et indéterminée pour la plupart des communautés côtières de l’île, avec peu de mise en œuvre significative. Par conséquent, les mesures locales visant à renforcer la résilience et la capacité d'adaptation sont essentielles pour garantir que les communautés soient en mesure de faire face aux effets immédiats et à long terme du changement climatique. Cet article examine un programme PHE à Madagascar, et illustre comment des initiatives pratiques peuvent contribuer au renforcement de la résilience et de la capacité d'adaptation immédiates et durables. Ces approches pourraient jouer un rôle clé dans les mesures d'adaptation dans la région de l'océan Indien occidental, où de nombreuses communautés côtières vivent dans une pauvreté extrême en première ligne d'un climat en évolution rapide.

            An: 2013

            Source: Journal des sciences marines de l'océan Indien occidental

            Accéder à la ressource

              L'éducation des femmes et la planification familiale sont toutes deux essentielles au développement durable, et méritent un soutien accru sans aucun appel aux considérations climatiques mondiales. Puisque les deux activités affectent la fertilité, croissance démographique, et émissions de carbone, ils peuvent également offrir des avantages liés au climat suffisants pour justifier un financement supplémentaire à partir de ressources consacrées à la réduction des émissions de carbone. Cet article examine les arguments économiques en faveur d'un tel soutien. Nous constatons que les options de politique démographique sont moins coûteuses que presque toutes les options Nauclér et Enkvist (2009) prévoir un développement énergétique à faible émission de carbone. Ils sont également compétitifs par rapport à la conservation des forêts et à d'autres pratiques forestières et agricoles améliorées.. Nous concluons que l'éducation des femmes et la planification familiale devraient être considérées comme des candidats potentiels viables pour un soutien financier des fonds mondiaux pour le climat. Les arguments en faveur de l'éducation des femmes sont également renforcés par sa contribution documentée à la résilience face au changement climatique qui est déjà devenu inévitable.

              An: 2010

              Source: Centre pour le développement mondial

              Accéder à la ressource

                Cette 2009 rapport phare fait valoir que les soins de santé reproductive, y compris la planification familiale, et les relations entre les sexes pourraient influencer l'évolution future du changement climatique et affecter la façon dont l'humanité s'adapte à la montée des mers, aggravation des tempêtes et des sécheresses sévères. Femmes, en particulier les femmes pauvres des pays en développement, supporter le fardeau disproportionné du changement climatique, mais sont souvent largement négligés dans le débat sur la manière de résoudre les problèmes de montée des mers, sécheresses, fonte des glaciers et conditions météorologiques extrêmes. Le rapport cite des recherches démontrant la plus grande vulnérabilité des femmes face aux catastrophes naturelles, en particulier là où les revenus sont bas et les différences de statut entre les hommes et les femmes sont importantes.. La lutte de la communauté internationale contre le changement climatique a plus de chances de réussir si les politiques, les programmes et traités tiennent compte des besoins, droits et potentiel des femmes. Le rapport montre que les investissements qui autonomisent les femmes et les filles - en particulier l'éducation et la santé - renforcent le développement économique, Réduire la pauvreté, et ont un impact bénéfique sur le changement climatique.

                An: 2009

                Source: Fonds des Nations Unies pour la population

                Accéder à la ressource

Archive for: Climate Change


The Promise of Planetary Health

This video, presented by the Planetary Health Alliance in partnership with the World Wildlife Fund and the Harvard University Center for the Environment, highlights how the disruption of nature is threatening planetary health and wellbeing, while underlining the need for solutions such as increased access to education, women’s empowerment, and reproductive health care for a sustainable future.

Year: 2021

Source: Planetary Health Alliance

Access the resource

Women’s Role in Adapting to Climate Change and Variability

Women are engaged in more climate-related change activities than is often recognized. This article highlights women’s important role in the adaptation of and search for safer communities, which leads them to understand better the causes and consequences of changes in climatic conditions. It is concluded that women have important knowledge and skills for orienting the adaptation processes, a product of their roles in society (productive, reproductive and community). In addition, the importance of gender equity in these processes is recognized. The relationship among climate change, climate variability and the accomplishment of the Millennium Development Goals is also considered.

Year: 2008

Source: Advances in GeoSciences

Access the resource

    Women’s Organizations and Climate Finance: Engaging in Processes and Accessing Resources

    Climate finance should flow to women’s organizations, gender-related groups, and feminist organizations working at the intersection of gender equality and climate change. Efforts toward enhanced gender-responsiveness of climate finance must include the groups, organizations, and networks best positioned to realize gender equality on the ground, contributing to more robust climate solutions and outcomes. These truths are undeniable, but we know that practice has not yet caught up to the ideal. In response, Prospera, the International Network of Women’s Funds, and WEDO have been working to identify the best engagement pathways for organizations to ensure the four primary public climate funds begin to make this a reality. This report is one piece of the ongoing work and advocacy undertaken by many colleagues and collaborators, to transform our climate finance system into one that is gender-responsive and equitable.

    Year: 2019

    Source: Women’s Environment and Development Organization | Prospera

    Access the resource

    Additional Resources

      Weathering Change: Stories About Climate and Family From Women Around the World

      Weathering Change takes us to Ethiopia, Nepal and Peru to hear the stories of women as they struggle to care for their families, while enduring crop failures and water scarcity. The film shows how women and families are already adapting to the climate change challenges that threaten their health and their livelihoods. The film is accompanied by a brief advocacy guide for viewers.

      Year: 2011

      Source: PAI [Film | Guide]

        Vulnerability and Resilience in the Face of Climate Change: Current Research and Needs for Population Information

        Research on vulnerability and resilience is rooted in the common-sense observation that similar climate events can produce very different levels of socioeconomic impact, depending not only on the location and timing of occurrence, but also the resources and agility of the societies who experience climate change impacts. The degree of impact depends on the ways in which the natural triggering event interacts with particular ecosystems and with the specific characteristics of the society affected, including its level of economic development; the types of livelihoods of its members; education levels; and other factors that generally determine both how resilient the affected population is as well as what resources are available for adaptation. This paper addresses four related topics: (1) varying definitions of vulnerability and resilience (and, to a lesser extent, adaptive capacity) and the implications of those differences for societal analysis, (2) candidate approaches to characterizing societal resilience to climate change, (3) methods for assessing resilience, and (4) the potential contribution of a richer understanding of affected populations to the study of resilience.

        Year: 2009

        Source: PAI | Battelle

        Access the resource

          Voluntary Family Planning to Minimise and Mitigate Climate Change

          Simply put, climate change is caused by excessive production of green-house gases. As highlighted by the late Professor Tony McMichael, the “cause(s) of the causes” should not be overlooked. With climate change already close to an irreversible tipping point, urgent action is needed to reduce not only our mean (carbon) footprints but also the “number of feet”—that is, the growing population either already creating large footprints or aspiring to do so. Wise and compassionate promotion of contraceptive care and education in a rights based, culturally appropriate framework offers a cost effective strategy to reduce greenhouse gases. This article outlines the evidence for voluntary accessible family planning as a strategy to reduce greenhouse gas emissions and mitigate climate change.

          Year: 2016

          Source: British Medical Journal

          Access the resource

            The Role of Community-Based Coastal Conservation and Development Initiatives in Building Social-Ecological Resilience to Climate Change: Experiences From Southern Madagascar

            Climate change impacts fall disproportionately on the world’s poorest, most marginalized communities, particularly those highly dependent on direct use of natural resources, such as subsistence fishing communities. Vulnerability to climate change involves social and ecological factors, and efforts to reduce it and build long-term resilience must target both. In Madagascar national and international planning to address vulnerability remains vague and indeterminate for most of the island’s coastal communities, with little meaningful implementation. Therefore, local measures to build resilience and adaptive capacity are critical to ensure that communities are able to cope with the immediate and long-term effects of climate change. This article examines a PHE program in Madagascar, and illustrates how practical initiatives can contribute to building immediate and long-lasting resilience and adaptive capacity. These approaches could play a key role in adaptation measures within the western Indian Ocean region, where many coastal communities live in severe poverty on the front line of a rapidly changing climate.

            Year: 2013

            Source: Western Indian Ocean Journal of Marine Science

            Access the resource

              The Economics of Population Policy for Carbon Emissions Reduction in Developing Countries

              Female education and family planning are both critical for sustainable development, and merit expanded support without any appeal to global climate considerations. Since both activities affect fertility, population growth, and carbon emissions, they may also provide sufficient climate-related benefits to warrant additional financing from resources devoted to carbon emissions abatement. This paper considers the economic case for such support. We find that the population policy options are less costly than almost all of the options Nauclér and Enkvist (2009) provide for low-carbon energy development. They are also cost-competitive with forest conservation and other improved forestry and agricultural practices. We conclude that female education and family planning should be viewed as viable potential candidates for financial support from global climate funds. The case for female education is also strengthened by its documented contribution to resilience in the face of the climate change that has already become inevitable.

              Year: 2010

              Source: Center for Global Development

              Access the resource

                State of World Population 2009: Facing a Changing World: Women, Population, and Climate

                This 2009 flagship report argues that reproductive health care, including family planning, and gender relations could influence the future course of climate change and affect how humanity adapts to rising seas, worsening storms and severe droughts. Women, especially impoverished women in developing countries, bear the disproportionate burden of climate change, but are often largely overlooked in the debate about how to address problems of rising seas, droughts, melting glaciers and extreme weather. The report cites research demonstrating women’s higher vulnerability in natural disasters—especially where incomes are low and status differences between men and women are high. The international community’s fight against climate change is more likely to be successful if policies, programmes and treaties take into account the needs, rights and potential of women. The report shows that investments that empower women and girls—particularly education and health—bolster economic development, reduce poverty, and have a beneficial impact on climate change.

                Year: 2009

                Source: United Nations Population Fund

                Access the resource

                  Safeguarding Human Health in the Anthropocene Epoch: Report of The Rockefeller Foundation–Lancet Commission on Planetary Health

                  We identify three categories of challenges that have to be addressed to maintain and enhance human health in the face of increasingly harmful environmental trends. Firstly, conceptual and empathy failures (imagination challenges), such as an over-reliance on gross domestic product as a measure of human progress, the failure to account for future health and environmental harms over present day gains, and the disproportionate effect of those harms on the poor and those in developing nations. Secondly, knowledge failures (research and information challenges), such as failure to address social and environmental drivers of ill health, a historical scarcity of transdisciplinary research and funding, together with an unwillingness or inability to deal with uncertainty within decision making frameworks. Thirdly, implementation failures (governance challenges), such as how governments and institutions delay recognition and responses to threats, especially when faced with uncertainties, pooled common resources, and time lags between action and effect.

                  Year: 2015

                  Source: The Rockefeller Foundation–Lancet Commission on Planetary Health

                  Access the resource