Une archive pour: Madagascar


La population de l'USAID, Santé et environnement (PHE) Activité d'intégration à Madagascar (2017-2019) a été dirigé par JSI Research & Institut de Formation, Inc. dans le cadre des partenaires d'avancement de l'USAID & Communautés (APC) Project and USAID’s Community Capacity for Health Program. The PHE Integration Activity in Madagascar had the objective of studying, documenting, and promoting the effective integration of PHE activities with the Ministry of Environment and Sustainable Development, the Ministry of Public Health, and the Ministry of Population, Social Protection and Promotion of Women, and other stakeholders in Madagascar. The PHE Integration Activity ended in 2019, however the USAID Community Capacity for Health Program in Madagascar continued family planning, child health and monitoring and evaluation work in the same geographic areas.

The USAID Community Capacity for Health Program—known in Madagascar as Mahefa Miaraka—was a five-year (2016–2021) community-based integrated health program funded by the United States Agency for International Development (Usaid). The Program was a collaborative effort among the Ministry of Public Health, Usaid, and JSI Research & Institut de Formation, Inc. Mahefa Miaraka provided tools and capacity-building training to approximately 10,000 community health volunteers who provided basic maternal health, child health, and family planning services to their local communities.

An: 2021

Source: John Snow, Inc.

Watch Part 1

Watch Part 2

Les effets du changement climatique frappent de manière disproportionnée les plus pauvres du monde, les communautés les plus marginalisées, en particulier ceux qui dépendent fortement de l'utilisation directe des ressources naturelles, comme les communautés de pêcheurs de subsistance. La vulnérabilité au changement climatique implique des facteurs sociaux et écologiques, et les efforts pour le réduire et renforcer la résilience à long terme doivent viser à la fois. À Madagascar, la planification nationale et internationale visant à lutter contre la vulnérabilité reste vague et indéterminée pour la plupart des communautés côtières de l’île, avec peu de mise en œuvre significative. Par conséquent, les mesures locales visant à renforcer la résilience et la capacité d'adaptation sont essentielles pour garantir que les communautés soient en mesure de faire face aux effets immédiats et à long terme du changement climatique. Cet article examine un programme PHE à Madagascar, et illustre comment des initiatives pratiques peuvent contribuer au renforcement de la résilience et de la capacité d'adaptation immédiates et durables. Ces approches pourraient jouer un rôle clé dans les mesures d'adaptation dans la région de l'océan Indien occidental, où de nombreuses communautés côtières vivent dans une pauvreté extrême en première ligne d'un climat en évolution rapide.

An: 2013

Source: Journal des sciences marines de l'océan Indien occidental

Accéder à la ressource

    Madagascar a une riche histoire d'initiatives intégrées de conservation et de développement. Ce rapport donne un aperçu de l'évolution de l'approche PHE intégrée à Madagascar de la fin des années 1980 à nos jours., avec un résumé des opportunités et des défis liés à la mise à l'échelle de cette approche pour aller de l'avant. Il s'inspire largement de plusieurs excellents rapports publiés au milieu des années 2000, complété par la littérature grise et les communications personnelles. Ce rapport est organisé par ordre chronologique, avec des phases qui se chevauchent reflétant les principaux développements dans la politique et la pratique. Les grands projets et acteurs sont mis en avant à chaque étape, en plus des approches importantes et des leçons apprises.

    An: 2014

    Source: Blue Ventures | Le réseau PHE de Madagascar

    Accéder à la ressource

      Beaucoup a été écrit sur l'histoire et les facteurs affectant le secteur de l'environnement succès et défis en Madagascar. Cette étude de cas se concentre spécifiquement sur la façon dont le secteur de la conservation s'est engagé à identifier et à répondre aux besoins non satisfaits de la famille Planification (FP) à Madagascar sur environ deux décennies (1988 –2007), dans le contexte d'amélioration de la vie localeles problèmes et la réduction des pressions sur la diminution du pays base de ressources naturelles, y compris sa biodiversité unique. Il regarde comment lesefforts continus reliant ou intégrant la population et l'environnement (AU) les efforts ont été et sont en cours d'extension au-delà du niveau du site. Le but de cette étude est de mettre en évidence moteurs de changement, contraintes et facteurs favorables pour aider à expliquer l'histoire et à identifier les stratégies qui peuvent être reproductibles ou nouvellement appliquées ailleurs en-pays ou dehors. Cette étude de cas est conçue pour aider à répondre à la question: Comment la communauté de la conservation peut-elle contribuer davantage à répondre aux besoins non satisfaits de planification familiale afin de réduire la pression future sur les ressources naturelles et la biodiversité et de promouvoir des moyens de subsistance plus durables?

      An: 2008

      Source: Fonds mondial pour la nature

      Accéder à la ressource

        Population-Environnement de la Fondation Packard (AU) Initiative, qui a commencé en juin 2000, a mis l'accent sur le soutien de projets intégrant la conservation et la planification familiale dans les communautés proches de zones à forte biodiversité. Il a soutenu le développement du leadership et a accru le plaidoyer et la sensibilisation aux liens population-environnement. La stratégie PE visait à améliorer la qualité de vie dans les domaines d'intervention, accroître la collaboration et le leadership sur des sujets interdisciplinaires, et utilisé les médias de masse et des campagnes ciblées pour sensibiliser le public et les décideurs aux liens et aux solutions. L'équipe d'examen a finalisé un rapport au Packard Fondation en juin, 2005 qui couvre les trois objectifs de la Packard Foundation Population-Initiative. Ce rapport à l'USAID fournit un évaluation plus limitée du succès de la Projets de terrain financés par Packard et USAID avec un accent particulier sur six projets financés par l'USAID dans le Philippines et Madagascar, trois de qui sont cofinancés avec Packard.
        Cette 2005 la revue de projet se concentre sur trois questions majeures:
        1. Quels sont les impacts probables à long terme de cette initiative sur le financement et le domaine de la population-environnement?
        2. Quels résultats ont été obtenus par les projets mis en œuvre dans le cadre de l'Initiative? et
        3. Quelles leçons ont été apprises qui pourraient être d'une utilité plus large pour la Fondation, autres donateurs, et le terrain à la suite de la mise en œuvre de cette initiative?

        An: 2005

        Source: Agence des États-Unis pour le développement international | La Fondation David et Lucille Packard

        Accéder à la ressource

          Population-Santé-Environnement (PHE) est un modèle interdisciplinaire de conception de programmes qui reconnaît les interconnexions complexes entre les personnes, leur santé et leur environnement. PHE répond de manière holistique aux défis auxquels sont confrontés les écosystèmes et les communautés qui en dépendent, avec des volets de travail thématiques distincts mais interconnectés partageant la même infrastructure, ressources et objectifs. Il a été démontré que cela permet d'obtenir de meilleurs résultats que de s'attaquer isolément aux problèmes de santé et d'environnement. Cet article montre comment la conception des programmes de SPE a été utilisée par Blue Ventures pour fournir des services de planification familiale dans, région côtière riche en biodiversité dans le sud-ouest de Madagascar. Le programme PHE a intégré les services de planification familiale dans un, programme de conservation communautaire, aidé par l'infrastructure établie et les bonnes relations communautaires développées par les agents de conservation. La mise en œuvre du programme a conduit à une forte utilisation des services de planification familiale, et les couples de la région sont désormais en mesure de faire leurs propres choix en matière de planification familiale. Les succès et les défis du programme sont discutés.

          An: 2014

          Source: Questions de santé génésique

          Accéder à la ressource

            Ce rapport décrit les résultats d'une 2007 évaluation du WWF (Fonds mondial pour la nature) PHE (Population, Santé et environnement) projets parrainés par Johnson & Johnson et USAID (les Etats Unis. Agence pour le développement international). Les sites PHE étaient situés en Afrique et en Asie, où les interactions homme-environnement sont en constante évolution, les populations humaines croissent rapidement, et ils dépendent le plus directement et affectent le plus profondément certains des écosystèmes forestiers et marins les plus riches de la planète. Les projets PHE ont facilité les soins de santé de base et la SR (la santé reproductive) disposition avec la thèse de travail selon laquelle l'amélioration de la santé humaine et la conservation de l'environnement ajoutent conjointement de la valeur à chacun indépendamment. Le rapport recommande également des actions futures sur la durabilité et l'intensification des approches PHE, amélioration de la collecte et du suivi des données et du soutien technique.

            An: 2008

            Source: Fonds mondial pour la nature

            Accéder à la ressource

              Depuis plus d'une décennie, des projets communautaires reliant la planification familiale, santé, et les efforts environnementaux ont été actifs dans la province de Fianarantsoa, Madagascar. Cette note explore l'évolution des approches et des projets intersectoriels dans la province de Fianarantsoa. Les premières initiatives intersectorielles ont reconnu que la conservation et la gestion des ressources naturelles pouvaient être compromises par des taux de fécondité élevés., et que répondre aux besoins de santé conduirait à un lien entre les communautés et les praticiens du développement. Les évaluations ont démontré que ces projets ont atteint de nouveaux publics, étaient efficaces, et encouragé une plus grande implication de la communauté.

              An: 2006

              Source: Bureau de référence démographique

              Accéder à la ressource

                Ce document constitue la base de données factuelles sur la manière dont les exécutants ont intégré l'eau, Assainissement et hygiène (LAVER) et conservation des écosystèmes d'eau douce à ce jour en Afrique subsaharienne (DANS) et documente les leçons tirées de projets qui adoptent une approche plus holistique de la conservation et du développement. Après un examen approfondi des projets existants qui intègrent la conservation de l'eau douce et les approches WASH, le rapport résume quatre projets qui fournissent de bons modèles pour les efforts futurs en ASS. Ces projets sont: L'accès rural à de nouvelles opportunités pour la santé et la gestion des ressources en eau (EAU DE BOIS) Projet à Madagascar; Évaluation du débit environnemental du bassin de Pangani en Tanzanie; Travailler pour les zones humides en Afrique du Sud; et la pêche durable (Ba-Nafaa) Projet en Gambie et au Sénégal. Le rapport présente également les leçons tirées de l'examen, ainsi qu'une analyse des opportunités et des défis liés à la mise en œuvre de projets intégrés de santé et de conservation.

                An: 2012

                Source: Groupe de collaboration sur la biodiversité en Afrique | Conservation International

                Accéder à la ressource

                  Cette étude présente Blue Ventures’ expériences intégrant des services de santé sexuelle et reproductive dans une initiative de conservation marine communautaire préexistante à Madagascar dans le cadre d'une population intégrée, santé et environnement (PHE) programme. Les résultats soulignent les synergies mutuellement bénéfiques, soutenir à la fois les objectifs de santé publique et de conservation, qui peuvent être créés en intégrant les services de santé sexuelle et reproductive dans des activités plus conventionnelles de conservation de la biodiversité. Cette approche BSP démontre le lien inextricable entre la santé reproductive et l'utilisation des ressources en fournissant des, bénéfices immédiats et durables pour la santé publique, l'égalité des sexes, sécurité alimentaire et conservation de la biodiversité.

                  An: 2012

                  Source: Oryx — The International Journal of Conservation

                  Accéder à la ressource

Archive for: Madagascar


Population, Health and Environment at Community Level in Madagascar

The USAID Population, Health and Environment (PHE) Integration Activity in Madagascar (2017-2019) was led by JSI Research & Training Institute, Inc. under the USAID Advancing Partners & Communities (APC) Project and USAID’s Community Capacity for Health Program. The PHE Integration Activity in Madagascar had the objective of studying, documenting, and promoting the effective integration of PHE activities with the Ministry of Environment and Sustainable Development, the Ministry of Public Health, and the Ministry of Population, Social Protection and Promotion of Women, and other stakeholders in Madagascar. The PHE Integration Activity ended in 2019, however the USAID Community Capacity for Health Program in Madagascar continued family planning, child health and monitoring and evaluation work in the same geographic areas.

The USAID Community Capacity for Health Program—known in Madagascar as Mahefa Miaraka—was a five-year (2016–2021) community-based integrated health program funded by the United States Agency for International Development (USAID). The Program was a collaborative effort among the Ministry of Public Health, USAID, and JSI Research & Training Institute, Inc. Mahefa Miaraka provided tools and capacity-building training to approximately 10,000 community health volunteers who provided basic maternal health, child health, and family planning services to their local communities.

Year: 2021

Source: John Snow, Inc.

Watch Part 1

Watch Part 2

The Role of Community-Based Coastal Conservation and Development Initiatives in Building Social-Ecological Resilience to Climate Change: Experiences From Southern Madagascar

Climate change impacts fall disproportionately on the world’s poorest, most marginalized communities, particularly those highly dependent on direct use of natural resources, such as subsistence fishing communities. Vulnerability to climate change involves social and ecological factors, and efforts to reduce it and build long-term resilience must target both. In Madagascar national and international planning to address vulnerability remains vague and indeterminate for most of the island’s coastal communities, with little meaningful implementation. Therefore, local measures to build resilience and adaptive capacity are critical to ensure that communities are able to cope with the immediate and long-term effects of climate change. This article examines a PHE program in Madagascar, and illustrates how practical initiatives can contribute to building immediate and long-lasting resilience and adaptive capacity. These approaches could play a key role in adaptation measures within the western Indian Ocean region, where many coastal communities live in severe poverty on the front line of a rapidly changing climate.

Year: 2013

Source: Western Indian Ocean Journal of Marine Science

Access the resource

    The History of PHE in Madagascar: Looking Back Over the Last 25 Years and Forward to the Next Chapter

    Madagascar has a rich history of integrated conservation and development initiatives. This report provides an overview of the evolution of the integrated PHE approach in Madagascar from the late 1980s through until the present day, along with a summary of opportunities and challenges relating to the scale up of this approach moving forward. It draws heavily on several excellent reports published during the mid-late 2000s, supplemented by grey literature and personal communications. This report is organised chronologically, with overlapping phases reflecting key developments in policy and practice. Major projects and players are highlighted at each stage, in addition to important approaches and lessons learned.

    Year: 2014

    Source: Blue Ventures | The Madagascar PHE Network

    Access the resource

      Scaling up Population and Environment Approaches in Madagascar: A Case Study

      Much has been written on the history of and factors affecting environment sector successes and challenges in Madagascar. This case study focuses specifically on how the conservation sector has engaged in identifying and addressing unmet need for family planning (FP) in Madagascar over approximately two decades (1988 –2007), in the context of improving local livelihoods and reducing pressures on the country’s dwindling natural resource base including its unique biodiversity. It looks at how previous andongoing efforts linking or integrating population and environment (PE) efforts have been and are being scaled up past the site level. The purpose of this study is to highlight drivers of change, constraints and enabling factors to help explain the history and to identify strategies that may be replicable or newly applied elsewhere in-country or outside. This case study is designed to help answer the question: How can the conservation community further contribute to meeting unmet need for family planning in order to reduce future pressure on natural resources and biodiversity and promote more sustainable livelihoods?

      Year: 2008

      Source: World Wildlife Fund

      Access the resource

        Review of Population-Health-Environment Programs Supported by the Packard Foundation and USAID

        The Packard Foundation’s Population-Environment (PE) Initiative, which began in June 2000, placed primary emphasis on supporting projects that integrated conservation and family planning in communities near areas of high biodiversity. It supported leadership development and increased advocacy for and awareness of population-environment linkages. The PE strategy sought to improve the quality of life in focal areas, increase collaboration and leadership on interdisciplinary topics, and used mass media and targeted campaigns to increase the public and policymakers’ awareness of the links and solutions. The review team finalized a report to the Packard Foundation in June, 2005 that covers the three objectives of the Packard Foundation Population-Initiative. This report to USAID provides a more limited assessment of the success of the Packard and USAID-funded field projects with a particular focus on six USAID-funded projects in the Philippines and Madagascar, three of which are co-funded with Packard.
        This 2005 project review concentrates on three major questions:
        1. What are the likely long-term impacts of this Initiative on funding and the field of Population-Environment?
        2. What results have been achieved by projects implemented under the Initiative? and
        3. What lessons have been learned that may be of broader use to the Foundation, other donors, and the field as a result of implementing this Initiative?

        Year: 2005

        Source: United States Agency for International Development | The David and Lucille Packard Foundation

        Access the resource

          Providing Family Planning Services to Remote Communities in Areas of High Biodiversity Through a Population-Health-Environment Programme in Madagascar

          Population-Health-Environment (PHE) is an interdisciplinary model of programme design which recognises the complex interconnections between people, their health and their environment. PHE responds holistically to the challenges faced by ecosystems and the communities dependent on them, with thematically distinct but interconnected work strands sharing the same infrastructure, resources and goals. This has been shown to achieve better outcomes than tackling health and environmental issues in isolation. This paper shows how PHE programme design has been used by Blue Ventures for providing family planning services in a remote, biodiverse coastal region in southwest Madagascar. The PHE programme has integrated family planning services into a pre-existing, community-based conservation programme, aided by the established infrastructure and good community relations developed by the conservation workers. Implementation of the programme has led to a strong uptake of family planning services, and couples in the region are now able to make their own family planning choices. Successes and challenges of the programme are discussed.

          Year: 2014

          Source: Reproductive Health Matters

          Access the resource

            Population, Health and Environment in Africa and Asia: An Evaluation of WWF’s USAID and Johnson & Johnson-Supported Projects

            This report describes the results of a 2007 evaluation of WWF (World Wildlife Fund) PHE (Population, Health and Environment) projects sponsored by Johnson & Johnson and USAID (the U.S. Agency for International Development). The PHE sites were located in Africa and Asia, where human-environment interactions are in constant flux, human populations are growing rapidly, and they depend most directly on and affect most profoundly some of the richest forest and marine ecosystems on Earth. The PHE projects facilitated basic health care and RH (reproductive health) provision with the working thesis that improving human health and environmental conservation jointly adds value to each independently. The report also recommends future actions on sustainability and scale up of PHE approaches, improved data collection and monitoring and technical support.

            Year: 2008

            Source: World Wildlife Fund

            Access the resource

              Linking Population, Health, and Environment in Fianarantsoa Province, Madagascar

              For over a decade community-based projects linking family planning, health, and environment efforts were active in Fianarantsoa province, Madagascar. This brief explores the evolution of cross-sectoral approaches and projects in Fianarantsoa province. The early cross-sectoral initiatives recognized that conservation and management of natural resources could be undermined by high fertility rates, and that addressing health needs would lead to a connection between communities and development practitioners. Evaluations have demonstrated that these projects have reached new audiences, were efficient, and fostered greater community involvement.

              Year: 2006

              Source: Population Reference Bureau

              Access the resource

                Linking Biodiversity Conservation and Water, Sanitation and Hygiene: Experiences from sub-Saharan Africa

                This paper builds the evidence base for how implementers have integrated Water, Sanitation and Hygiene (WASH) and freshwater ecosystem conservation to date in sub-Saharan Africa (SSA) and documents lessons learned from projects that take a more holistic approach to conservation and development. After an extensive review of existing projects that integrate freshwater conservation and WASH appraoches, the report summarizes four projects that provide good models for future efforts in SSA. These projects are: The Rural Access to New Opportunities for Health and Water Resource Management (RANON’ALA) Project in Madagascar; Pangani Basin Environmental Flow Assessment in Tanzania; Working for Wetlands in South Africa; and the Sustainable Fisheries (Ba-Nafaa) Project in The Gambia and Senegal. The report also provides lessons learned from the review, as well as an analysis of opportunities and challenges with implementing integrated health and conservation projects.

                Year: 2012

                Source: Africa Biodiversity Collaborative Group | Conservation International

                Access the resource

                  Integrating Family Planning Service Provision Into Community-Based Marine Conservation

                  This study presents Blue Ventures’ experiences incorporating sexual and reproductive health services within a pre-existing community-based marine conservation initiative in Madagascar as part of an integrated population, health and environment (PHE) programme. The findings emphasize the mutually beneficial synergies, supporting both public health and conservation objectives, which can be created by integrating sexual and reproductive health services into more conventional biodiversity conservation activities. This PHE approach demonstrates the inextricable link between reproductive health and resource use by providing practical, immediate and lasting benefits to public health, gender equity, food security and biodiversity conservation.

                  Year: 2012

                  Source: Oryx—The International Journal of Conservation

                  Access the resource